Having recently published and marketed my memoir, I was especially taken by this post on Linda Austin’s blog. I had to deal with all the issues she raises.

Are you afraid to write your memoir? It’s scary out there!

Several of you have indicated you’re thinking about writing a memoir or doing what Linda calls “life writing.” I started with “life writing” shortly after I retired from academic life in 2000–beginning with stories from my childhood. Then it morphed into stories from my adult life, and finally a manuscript and book.

I highly recommend the process to those of you who are so inclined. Many of you, of course, are not, and that’s fine, too. Writers need readers, and vice versa. 

Thanks much to my readers from so many parts of the world. You motivate me and I hope your time on my blog is well spent–most of the time anyway.

Cheers!

           –Earl B. Russell

